Tulip Mini Quilt

tulip1

I like to do something special for my kids’ teachers at the end of the year to thank them for everything they have done. This year, I decided to make some tulip table runners.

tulip2

I wrote up some measurements for a simple tulip pattern and went to work! After completing the tops, I used my Juki sewing machine to free motion quilt some swirls and flowers in an all over design.

tulip3

I gave my daughters some choices of binding fabric to chose from. One requested pink and the other wanted red binding. The red floral and pink bias striped binding are both from Bonnie and Camille’s Handmade line and the red striped binding is from Bonnie and Camille’s Basics. I used a matching Moda Bella solid for the green stems and leaves.

tulips4

I love how they turned out and only wish I would have made an extra one for me!

Leave a Reply

