Patriotic Pillow with Harry & Alice

The 4th of July is over, but I couldn’t resist working on another patriotic project with the new Go to the Sea with Harry & Alice fabric from Riley Blake Designs–especially after seeing this fun flag quilt block on Lori Holt’s blog. I knew it would be perfect in Harry & Alice fabric!

Harry&Alice_pillow

I started off with the Sparkler quilt block (the tutorial is available online at Lori Holt’s blog HERE). It’s such a fun star block that is cute in two contrasting prints (shown here in navy dots and Riley Blake Kisses in Vintage White), or scrappy–check our Lori’s blog to see some darling color options. Of course, I couldn’t resist fussy cutting a tiny anchor to put in the very center of the star block.

93E2DF1F-EF2A-4808-94F1-BB34B58D5D0A

After the star block is completed, it takes no time at all to add some stripes to make a flag block. The tutorial for the stripes is on Lori Holt’s blog HERE.

Harry&Alice_pillow_3

A little straight line quilting and a simple envelope back turned the flag quilt block into a pillow cover! Super easy, right?

Harry&Alice_pillow_back

I made the entire pillow from start to finish using the same spool of thread–my favorite Aurifil 50wt in 2024 (white). I love that it’s an all-purpose thread that I can use for piecing, quilting, binding, and everything in between.

Harry&Alice_pillow_aurifil

 

IMG_4451

Go to the Sea with Harry & Alice is available in quilt shops now (I’ve seen those gorgeous florals at a quilt shop in person–and they are stunning!).

Happy Sewing!

3 thoughts on “Patriotic Pillow with Harry & Alice

Leave a comment