Aurifil + Anna Maria Horner Challenge

Aurifil recently challenged their Aurifil Artisans to use three Anna Maria Horner fat quarters from Free Spirit fabrics along with a favorite Aurifil thread to create a project. Sounds fun, right? I received the three fat quarters below and chose 12wt thread in a coordinating dark gray.

Aurifil_AMH_supplies

After a little brainstorming, I decided to make a vinyl zipper pouch with a fun modern hexie design on the back. It was interesting to see how the prints transformed when only a small hexie-worth of them was visible instead of the whole pattern.

Aurifil_AMH_vinyl pouch

The large floral print was chosen for the inside of the zipper pouch–although it’s a little hard to see with the reflection from the vinyl. 🙂 I found a light turquoise zipper that matched perfectly–it must have been meant to be! 😉

Aurifil_AMH_vinyl pouch1

My favorite part of the process was using the Aurifil 12wt to quilt the lines across the hexies. It was my first time using such a heavy weight thread in my sewing machine and I loved how thick those quilting lines ended up!

Aurifil_AMH_vinyl pouch2

This Aurifil Artisan challenge was such a fun experience for me. I loved being able to experiment with new prints and the thicker 12wt Aurifil thread. I’ll be sharing more of these Aurifil Artisan challenges throughout the next year and I’m excited to see what the Aurifil team throws at us next. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Aurifil + Anna Maria Horner Challenge

Leave a comment